Understanding Social Anxiety

fl2010

Hello,

I am a therapy student and I am doing research about Social Anxiety Disorder. I will soon be presenting on this topic and I would like the audience to understand what it feels like to have SAD.

What could I do to help someone who does not have Social Anxiety understand what it’s like to have to have Social Phobia? Are there any exercises, activities you would recommend that would demonstrate how it feels?

Also, what have you done to help people understand what it is like to live with SAD?

Thank you very much, I greatly appreciate your help.

coyote

...What could I do to help someone who does not have Social Anxiety understand what it’s like to have to have Social Phobia? Are there any exercises, activities you would recommend that would demonstrate how it feels?....

Have them strip naked in front of room full of people who laugh and point and throw rotten vegetables at them.

Felgen

Imagine standing on the stage for a talent show (with millions of people watching) not knowing what to do and what to say, while being terrified of humiliation, rejection and not to mention having a panic attack.

What could I do to help someone who does not have Social Anxiety understand what it’s like to have to have Social Phobia? Are there any exercises, activities you would recommend that would demonstrate how it feels?

Also, what have you done to help people understand what it is like to live with SAD?

It feels like a big fear when in presence of people/social situations (with family member this could be less). It feels like theres something wrong with you and people around you are aware of it, you feel that everyone is watching you, if its all strangers around you you will probably feel worse.