Teeth Grinding??

I find myself obsessively grinding my teeth non stop as of lately, it's been getting a lot worse. I'll also clench my jaw, so it's like either I'm doing that or grinding my teeth, and my mouth hurts like crazy by the end of the day. I try to chew gum most of the day but I still do it. I'm just wondering if anyone else has the same problem, and can never stop grinding their teeth?

dottie

i don't grind my teeth because i am very concious that i don't want to ruin them. so i've never allowed myself to do it. but i always clench my jaw.

Foxglove

I don't grind them, I just kind of grit them together. The muscles in my neck and shoulders are always tense, too. Even when I'm asleep. It's like I can never relax.

Sn0wman

Yes! I've been grinding my teeth for 10+ years. Although I do it mostly while sleeping. I've grounded them down so much that there are no pointy bits left. My dentist made me a plastic splint (like a mouth guard) to wear while sleeping so I grind that down instead of further damaging my teeth. It also readjusts my jaw position so I would grind less even without the splint.

Do yourself a favour and see a dentist about it. Teeth grinding can cause significant damage in the long term.

And I do think my teeth grinding is related to stress caused by my SA.

slimjim119

I have been grinding my teeth for years. Only while I'm sleeping. My dentist made up a nightguard so i don't do anymore damage to them. You should go to a dentist and have it checked out. Its usually related to stress. I do clench my jaw during the day sometimes and get headaches and stiff necks as a result.

Thanks all you guys, that is a really good idea. I really need one of those too, I can feel the damage it's doing already. I want my teeth to stay the way they are and not get ruined. Oooh maybe jaw clenching is a reason why I get headaches so much... :/

mrb