Suggestion

kyle

Banned
People who have been victims of bullying should study techniques on dealing with difficult people. My occupation makes it necessary to deal with these people, and I am currently studying how to deal with people with sociopathic tendencies.

One thing to do is don;t act like a victim. Make eye contact, have good posture, and make your presence known. Bullies will often look for signs of weakness. Don;t be afraid to be loud and assertive.

mikebird

Banned
I love your thread!!

I have to get my balance right on this! One thing: never been bullied at school. This is what I think, but I might be wrong! Perhaps a classic of an SA person to avoid / hide / ignore such an issue from. I really don't remember. It could have been very slight or non-existent. Three different schools in 1980s and 1990s

I have an urge to stand up for myself, and I will risk my own body to get wrangled / riled / furious if that's what it takes. My serious root of bullying is in being fired at every job I have ever done, taking me determinedly to the next, next, next.

I feel a need to curb my anger. I know it's not fruitful to act the way I've wanted to, with deep passion to scream at the person who's fired me. No violence. JUST a simple REASON: "was it my technical or personal anxiety?" I remember one south african boss, Leon, said I wasn't good enough. He made me walk around the very small office and say a friendly "goodbye" to all the staff, after coming downstairs from a meeting with Leon and his Boss, David. I went out of the door with Leon and assertively wanted the reason. He said "it wasn't personal, Mike" This has happened for years before and afterwards... Everyone always says what they think I want to hear, lying. I immediately found a much better job after that within a week, in London.