Starting new

Moonie

"Know what my number one fantasy used to be? I used to think about one day, just not telling anyone, and going off to some random place. And I'd just ... disappear. And they'd never see me again." Enid, from Ghost World.

Has anyone else had a fantasy like this? Ever since I was in middle school- I thought I was going to shift myself west after HS or college and I would just suddenly become a different person - more fun, more outgoing, more happy, more talkative, more beautiful, successful etc, etc. Maybe I thought that a new location would help me reinvent myself. I wouldn't have reminders and people who see me as shy and timid and unassertive. I could start anew.

I am now 25, I am a college graduate, living at home, and working part time. My number one fantasy is still to just up and go one night - on a bus or train to somewhere new. But, in reality, I couldn't do this. How would I be able to survive in a new location without any money or place to stay? How would I be brave enough even attempt this? And I know now that I will never transform into some magical person like I always dreamt about in school. I will still be me. Yet, I still want a new and exciting change.

Has anyone moved far away on their own? How did you make it happen? Does anyone else have this fantasy to just go and be alone and try and make a life for yourself. I am old enough to do so, but as I said, don't have the money or guts to do it. Any advice?