social phobia on campus

Erin

I have been at a new school for 4 months and the only person I know is my roomate. I am so tired of being the only one on campus that seems to be unable to form attachments to people...how do I even begin to overcome my anxiety if I can't handle going to a party without feeling horrible and panic-ridden?

I keep telling myself that I am a student first, and that I shouldn't feel bad about not having any freinds when I'm getting good grades. But I just don't feel right.

Anyone else here with SA on acollege or university campus?

spacecadet

Hi

I admire you for being at university. My illness hit me at 14 with social phobia and then when I was 16 I got psychotic features of my illness which interrupted my school work. I never made it past age 16 at school. Pat yourself on the back for being clever enough to be in uni. And don't be so hard on yourself. Friends will come in time if you accept yourself as you are and for your good points. The most importamt thing is to do well in your studies. Maybe also see your GP and tell him/her the problems you have just to let him know you might need help.
Some people make friends all the time and some people are slower. Dojn't beat yourself up. If you take things easy now you have every chance to be successful in the future.

Mooncalf

Yeah, I'm the same Erin. Been at University for one and a half years now, and the only people I know even slightly well are three guys in my class (who I very very rarely party with). I don't even know my flatmates very weel ... except one who seems to be a little socially phobic too (I don't know why but I'm always more comfortable with people who are shy).