SA ≠ weakness of character.

Pookah

This week at my job (I work in a warehouse) we were having our year end inventory. This tends to be a time where everyone relaxes slightly and we all wander around the huge warehouse counting and basically otherwise left to our own devices.

I was paired with a guy with an extremely extroverted nature. He was making jokes to me and everyone around and talking. (The kind of person I am extremely uncomfortable around.) People for the past two days have been teasing him and me about whether or not he was bothering me. I generally come off as extremely quiet and shy while he is a "ball breaker". He found this to be of interest and would bring it up to others asking if he is that annoying that everyone is trying to protect me from him.

One of the older guys tried to explain it was because I was so quiet that they didn't think I'd speak up for myself basically. Throughout the day we would complain about various things, I would offer help with the math or suggest ways to go about counting troublesome locations. The older guy decided that "I take back what I said earlier, she does talk." So I replied "I'm shy but I have a strong personality." Everyone just chuckled.

Sorry for the long setup but basically I want to know what everyone thinks. I believe even though I have anxiety and am timid in interaction I am still just as firm in my opinions, feelings, likes and dislikes as anyone else. When I feel comfortable enough or strongly enough about something I will speak up in those instances, otherwise I feel awkwardly out of place or simply uninterested in saying anything to other people.

So can we have SA but still be formidable on the inside? I think we can, my inner self isn't as much able to be expressed on the outside and I think that is a huge contributor to my anxiety/depression...feeling bottled up.

/end rambling

Predacon