Prom is in less than 2 weeks, extremely nervous!

csi226

A coworker invited me to her high school senior prom as friends. I am in my first year of college so there isn't much of an age difference. I said yes, because I figured, she just really wanted someone to go with her and Prom only happens once, blah blah blah. Anyways, we are pretty good friends at work, but I'm worried that I won't really fit in because I am really shy around people I don't know ( I don't know anyone in the group but her) Also, I've never really hung out with girls outside of work.. I didn't go to my prom/wasn't much of the partier back in high school either. The last dance I went to was in seventh grade, and surprise surprise, I didn't dance... how can I make the night fun for her without it being awkward on her, the group, and me? Any tips/advice?

Also, I kind of like her, but I know she just wants to go as friends, so I'm constantly reminding myself that we are going just as friends. Like I said, I've never hung out with girls outside of work, never had a gf, etc... any advice on this issue? Honestly, I was kind of surprised that she asked me...

Finally, when we did hang out once after work recently, it was really weird, like the conversations wouldn't flow the same way they would at work... what can I do to try and fix this? Also, I don't know how to dance... and the prom is in less than 2 weeks and she asked me a few days ago... I'm not worried about slow dancing, it's the fast dancing I'm worried about...

Thanks for the advice,