Problems at work, fear of responsibility

Aron

Hi,

So I've been working at this IT company for 5 years now (first job in my life btw). At first, it was a pretty ok place, they hired me with no experience, I could learn, and during the years I became a somewhat skilled person. But problems came with skill. They would expect more and more from me, in terms of responsibility, and things they think I'm capable of while I'm not.

For example they asked me if I would act as an "on-call" person, which means that I should carry a mobile and a laptop with me when I'm not at work, and they could call me anytime if there's a severe problem, and I should have to solve it. At work, I have more experienced colleagues than me to rely on if I can't solve a problem, but being an on-call I can't do that, I'm on my own. What if a problem comes which I can't solve? I probably wouldn't be able to sleep, being scared of when the phone will ring.

Now they want me to travel abroad to transfer a work from there to here. Alone. It scares the hell out of me. First of all, my english is far from good. Do not judge by this post, I'm talking about my verbal skills which are very poor, and I can't understand spoken english well either if they don't speak clearly (with accent for example). And by being SA it also makes me very incapable of doing a work transfer where one should be asking questions and negotiate if necessary and such, and that's not me, I can't do it. I don't know how I will get out of this, what I will tell them as a reason that I can't go. They expect me to answer on Monday.

Does anyone else have a problem at work because of the fear of responsibility? How do you deal with it?

goldatom

I don't know - just do it. Doing something is always better than not doing something. Besides always look at the positive aspects - you're getting to travel, or when you're asked to solve problems on your own, you're getting to learn and do something constructive.

mikebird

Banned