Possibly Autistic

anomicdeer

Do you think some of use could be autistic?

I doubt I am autistic but then it makes me wonder. I know how people are with "self diagnosis". I'm undiagnosed when it comes to SA. Sometimes I think I'm just a sociopath or whatever but then I don't just NOT have certain feelings, I just don't care or even know how to communicate. I think it's because I have little social experience but is it the cause?

I haven't read much but I'm wondering if anyone else thinks some of us with SA could be autistic or could it just be social anxiety.

AtTheGates

Banned
if you dont have alot of social experience then its hard to see any value in socializing or even making freinds..it just doesnt feel like a priority..for me personally, going to bars or clubs and chatting with people in public isnt something I would get excited about..I would actually dread it because iv had enough negative social experiences to really turn me off to the whole club/bar/party scene...I have a thing for dimly lit corners in libraries or bookstores...if im ever in a social sitauion in public im naturally drawn towards any cozy nook or cranny I can find..its comforting...anyway, you're more likely to CARE about things that you enjoy and socializing might not be one of them..

I doubt you're autistic. I think there would be more serious warning signs.

Last edited:

dannyboy65

I have autism and I was diagnosed when I was 16 (which is a late diagnoses) I don't think social anxiety and autism are the same thing. It's not that I get anxious during conversations it's more that I don't know how to react. I don't know how to show emotions, I have them but I can't show them.

I'm part of an autism foundation for adults and it shows how people with SAD (Social Anxiety Disorder) and people with autism are different. There are people with autism who can't speak, barely move, and some can't even move. Some can barely speak, one of my friends speaks through a wooden board.