OCD and relationship issues

littletrout

Hi, I'm a newbie...
So frustrated! Can anyone help me? Here's what happens to me:
1. I ruminate on thoughts and feelings about my fears of 'people (my mother in-law) interfering in my life'
2. My wife has ensured me time and again that no one will interfere in our life
3. It causes me to snap at people and be withdrawn (towards my in-laws and my wife) and piss them off (because i've been ruminating about something 'unfair' or 'interfering' all day)
4. I feel a constant need to argue and 'set things right as I think they should be'
I am in danger of losing my wife and everything I have :cry: ...help!

apple85

it sounds nothing like an anxiety disorder and more like repressed anger, especially the bit about ruminating on injustices-this is a classic symptom of repressed anger. Look up material on repressed anger, anger disorders and how they express themselves in men (typically men and women have slightly different ways of dealing with anger issues). Youll be doing urself a big favour!

paulmm

actually, this does sound like an anxiety disorder. not sure if its quite OCD, but the fears of people interfering, and the need to set things right sound just like OCD symptoms. I'd read some articles on OCD and see if they sound like you. If its not OCD, it could very well be another anxiety disorder (there are a lot).

littletrout

OK...so where do I go from here? It seems the whole world is pissed off at me now. Except my parents, who will only take my side and not see things for how they are and how I can be an asshole soemtimes. They'll just blame my wife and my in-laws. I've ruined everyone's Christmas!!! :cry:

RedRibbons

Trout, you didn't ruin anyones Christmas. People choose to react, k, they ruin it for themselves. Don't let anyone blame you for anything.

Here, I didn't read through this 100% but.. it might help.

http://ezinearticles.com/?OCD-and-Relationships&id=354366