Meeting and talking to people for the first time

LostMyself

Hello, I'm new to SPW

For a long time i have been tortured by my own shyness, or maybe it's not even shyness. I work at a night club running audio, visuals, and lighting so there's always new people around me, and a lot of regulars that i still haven't introduced myself to. Even after direct eye contact neither of us says anything and that's that. There's been so many times when i've really wanted to meet someone, but just couldn't make the jump to saying what i have in my head. Some situations are different than others. I don't think it would be so hard, provided i had what i wanted to say to each person all the time.. I think i'm just bad with introducing myself, and making small talk, or continuing the conversion. It really sucks when there's someone you know you will never see again, and the opportunity to talk to them is staring you in the face, sometimes for a prolonged period of time, and still neither person says anything at all. Every once in a while someone will talk to me, and i can of course continue conversation from there usually, and everything is fine, but I am rarely the one to say anything first. Is my body language that closed up? I didn't think so. I find it hard even to say things to people i know when there's a lot of other people around. I really feel like prolonging introductions and conversation with people i see over and over is only damaging a potential relationship i might have with them... I don't feel like I'm really that bad in the social game.. I think i just lack confidence.. Confidence gained through productive efforts...

The moment i hate the most is when people are meeting each other around me, and after they're done with the meet n greet i make eye contact with them and neither of us says anything at all, and we move on.... Need to make a whole notebook of potential things to say to different people in different situations...