Living and dying...laughing and crying...Housebound I am...

DillJenkins

Hello agoraphobic people. I graduated college in 2008 have lived at home since with no job or anything.

I am basically housebound. I need tips to get me un-stuck. I am afraid to get a job and this is why I stay at home in my room.

I have often wondered if becoming homeless would motivate me enough to get a job and I decided I would just move to a warmer climate so as not to freeze to death.

It seems like my agoraphobia is just based on extreme avoidance behavior. I have tried all the conventional medicine.

Anyone have any ideas?

Kanon

Take your time too, life isnt a big rush. Get prepared, do things when you are ready.

(sorry to pirate your thread, but i am also interest in this topic).

i wish i could say the same, but it feels like a big rush. my student loans are overdue, credit card debt from paying apartment rent on them while at college, an unsupportive single mother raising three other children and wants nothing to do with me, not a single phone call for an interview after countless online applications for local jobs... friends and acquaintances have their own lives and have forgotten about me, family members look down on me when they visit. AND i'm trying to fix it all of it. i tried at my own pace, and it got nowhere fast, then i tried at paces of motivational books, therapists, prescriptions, and almost everything legal that i could think of.
i guess time doesn't wait for anyone, so if your own pace is in sync with natural time, then its okay i guess.

releaseme

you say..."I am afraid to get a job"
question: have you ever had a job?

living at home....those were the days.

my parents rented back then...they moved when i was 18, which left me on my own.
it was a horse farm and other people were living with us at the time but, i was forced to rent the room i grew up in if i wanted to stay at home. my rent back then was $120 a month.