How to explain lack of work experience

I have the incredibly embarrassing problem of being 26 and only having worked for one summer (at 25!). This is appalling even for a person with extreme SA. The thing is, my SA hasn't been as bad the past year, to the point where I think I have decent enough social skills to do well on a job interview and not get fired from a customer service job. After being a virtual shut-in from ages 20 to 25, I can now at least comfortably go out on a regular basis and feel little anxiety during mundane social interactions.

My problem now is I'm afraid to even apply for jobs because, even though I have a degree, I have less work experience than a high school kid, and thus am unlikely to even get an interview. I know employers will assume I'm lazy, spoiled, and have other things terribly wrong with me. On top of that, I can't think of more than one person who I can use as a reference. The only jobs I'm considering applying for are minimum wage-type jobs like retail and food service. Do they even check references for those? I have some volunteer experience, but haven't known anyone long enough or well enough to ask them for a reference.

Has anyone else here started working as late as I have? How do you explain those years you haven't worked? I graduated college at 25, so when I put down the year I graduated on an application or resume, maybe employers can assume I'm younger than I am? I feel so discouraged. I'd appreciate any advice.

You shouldn't be afraid to at least go out there and try. There are a lot of jobs that, so long as you are able bodied, do not care what past work experience you have.
I think that as long as you go into an interview with a good attitude, and assure them that you are a hard worker, they will seriously consider you. Do well at that ONE job, and you will have a reference for future endeavors.

Good luck! :)