Hey Group

Bustn Justin

Hi group, I am 30/male and have SA for over 12 years.

I am able to work in retail and go out to get groceries, however, I don't leave the house. I live on my own and like to watch TV, listen to music, and surf the internet.

My SA makes me afraid to form close relationships with others since my past friendships my 'friends' would use me or become mean towards me one day and be my friend the next. Since I graduated from university, my desire to be around others go gone down hill.

This all started in high school since I am different from the other guys and was teased for it. I have participated in many activities to find out what I am good at and socialize with other people, however, nothing clicked in and nobody seemed to like me any more. In my final yyear of high school I went to my classes and left to the mall or go right home since I seen no point in being in any extra curicular activities.

In university I was afraid to be friends with my classmates since I felt that I am not smart enough to be there and being different I thouhgt that nobody could possibly like me. In my higher level classes I had a prof come to me that I need to stop being shy and that the class wants to support me but I felt it was a lie since my prof does not really know me as a person.

Now I am wanting to get help because if I don't I am going to be lonely and not have a family of my own. As well my SA has hurt my career since I do not network leaving me with few opportunities to get ahead. As well If this continues I am going to be more depressed and dig myself a deeper whole and it will be too late.

Any advice would be great. Thx.

Smurfette

Hi! I'm your friendly Manitoban neighbor and I'm 32. It's nice to bump into someone closer to my age and Country. I don't know if I really have advice but I can relate. It's great that u acknowledge u have an issue and u just need to work on your self-worth/self-esteem a bit more. I'm here to listen if u need 2 talk :)