Have you made progress in defeating SA?

alex7

this IS a disorder right? disorders are suppose to be cured over time. I see a lot of users here go to therapy and are on medication. I've been down the medication road and it lead me no where but made me have big headaches and short-term erectile problems (im gonna emphasize, SHORT TERM:)).

who here has made progress, and what is your road to recovery?

ripewithdecay

I've had some success with CBT, I no longer stutter, shake, or blush, and I can look people in the eyes. These are small fractional things considering i've been doing CBT on and off for a few years, but i'm 100% sure at this point that anybody can overcome it - it takes some serious motivation, trial and error and patience though.

Nack

Banned
One cannot defeat social anxiety; everyone has it mild or severe. The only thing you can do is to adapt to it, or make it less severe. Its impossible to get rid of any anxieties.

alex7

One cannot defeat social anxiety; everyone has it mild or severe. The only thing you can do is to adapt to it, or make it less severe. Its impossible to get rid of any anxieties.

there really is a huge amount of negativity in this forum...i guess i shouldnt be surprised, as i too am very negative. But it does make me wonder why so few ppl with SA have not succeeded in defeating it.

Liberty

Banned
there really is a huge amount of negativity in this forum...i guess i shouldnt be surprised, as i too am very negative. But it does make me wonder why so few ppl with SA have not succeeded in defeating it.

I've noticed this as well. Negativity in my opinion is actually an indicator of mental illness. In some way it's related. CBT works to change negative thoughts into positive thoughts and once you've done that the anxiety loses it's strength. It's strength lies in negativity.

Liberty

Banned