Dread working

Apple Strudel

I really hate working...I just got back from my retail job and it was hell since I work in a restaurant. I did not get an yscoldings but the work is tough and the pay is shit.

Because the pay is shit, I have to work for another few more months before I can save and transfer to another school and then another school...

I am 22 years going on 23 and when can I not work in such a crappy job??????

Not working is not an option and my parents don't want to support me any longer.

Damn...I feel so lost...my stomach is having lots of butterflies and my chest hurts...

Anubis

Sometimes you need a "reason" to do monotonous work and not feel miserable. After reading your post, it kinda seems like you're doing the work primarily to pay for your schooling. The million dollar question then becomes ... are you going to school for your passion or are you going to school "just to satisfy your parents". Because if it's the latter, then your dreading work for a good reason. Everything seems pointless and painful when you're living other people's lives instead of yours.

Kat

Customer service and social anxiety are usually not a good combination. You may be better off stacking shelves. I know it’s pretty much impossible to avoid people all together in a job but those type of jobs can be a challenge for even the social people because you usually get all the slack from the unhappy customers. Makes me think maybe a manager job would be good because I see them rarely complain to them.

cruisin

I dread working too man. I'm stuck in retail and even though it's just a couple of days a week I can't cope. It's not even the actual work that I find so hard to cope with but rather the trip there and back ie; being on public transport for an hour.

I just put on a hoody and keep my head down listening to music but I still worry about what everyone around me is thinking and afraid I'll have an encounter with someone.

:(

SingleAloneForever