Does your SA make you too dysfunctional to hold a simple job?

I get so flustered and nervous that I have trouble even with the simplest of tasks (job wise). When I worked at Wal-mart, it was hard to even get the hang of a simple deli job because I felt so dysfunctional and nervous. I think the anxiety soaks up so much of my mental energy that it makes it hard to focus, multi-task, remember things, etc. I have a degree and yet I am terrified to even get a job at a fast food place because I think I will feel stupid when I can't perform well.

Does anyone have this problem? Has anyone been fired from what should be an "easy" job because of their anxiety/incompetence? I swear I feel like I'm mentally retarded half the time. How am I supposed to hold a "real job" at a major company when I can't even function and make stupid mistakes all the time?

Yep. I can relate.
I once had a job when I turned 16 as a cook at a fast food place, but the orders went so fast, and I didn't understand the menu or what to cook. I was just throwing burgers on the skillet lol. I couldn't handle it, so I quit. With virtually no friends, that's been my only real job. For everything else I've just been too afraid. And having hardly any life skills doesn't help. I wouldn't know what in the world I'm doing out there.
It definitely makes me feel retarded sometimes. Especially as time goes on and my mental capacity feels like it's shrinking.

Lorraine Manca

I get so flustered and nervous that I have trouble even with the simplest of tasks (job wise). When I worked at Wal-mart, it was hard to even get the hang of a simple deli job because I felt so dysfunctional and nervous. I think the anxiety soaks up so much of my mental energy that it makes it hard to focus, multi-task, remember things, etc. I have a degree and yet I am terrified to even get a job at a fast food place because I think I will feel stupid when I can't perform well.