Does breathing help?

krfoss

Hi everyone.

I am a recent graduate in counseling and am doing some research into social phobia/ anxiety treatment. I keep reading books where people reccomend breathing techniques (deep breathing, zen breathing, breathing in for 2, out of 2, in 2, out 4, etc), but I wanted to find out from you, the people who REALLY know, if this actually helps in the moment of anxiety to calm down.

If this does help, I'd love to know how to best use it, or which ones work the best. If it does not work, I'd love to find out what has worked for you to help calm your anxiety during times it peaks in social situations.

Finally, I'd love to talk with any or all of you to help answer other questions and hear from you about your experiences and sucessess.

Thanks!

sabbath9

Banned
krfoss said:
Hi everyone.

I am a recent graduate in counseling and am doing some research into social phobia/ anxiety treatment. I keep reading books where people reccomend breathing techniques (deep breathing, zen breathing, breathing in for 2, out of 2, in 2, out 4, etc), but I wanted to find out from you, the people who REALLY know, if this actually helps in the moment of anxiety to calm down.

If this does help, I'd love to know how to best use it, or which ones work the best. If it does not work, I'd love to find out what has worked for you to help calm your anxiety during times it peaks in social situations.

Finally, I'd love to talk with any or all of you to help answer other questions and hear from you about your experiences and successes.

Thanks!

Hi krfoss, welcome to SPW!