Argh! I need some advice...

columnmn

Hi all,

I just found this forum, and I like the idea of having like-minded people around, hopefully who can help me with a problem I have.

I’ll give some background first.

I’ve got social anxiety, specifically dating anxiety, but it’s spreading into more areas of my life. I’m 22, and it has been getting worse for the last 4 years. Basically, whenever I speak to a girl I like, I begin to feel sick, and if I don’t get away I’ll throw up (which has happened more times than I can count).

So as you can imagine, my social life is almost non-existent. I’m in a bad rut, basically wake up, go to work, go home, go to sleep. And my days off are usually at home, playing on the computer. And I’m sick of it.

I tried a medication called Zonlof (I think that’s it), but it kinda messed with my head, and didn’t really work. I’m a bit of a writer, and I’d loose a good portion of my creativity, and I’d look at something and simply not see it. So naturally I went off it.

That was a few years ago, and it’s still getting worse. To the point that I feel a constant sick feeling some mornings, and it’s really annoying me.

But that’s still not the problem I have. Well sorta not anyway.

For the last year and a half, I’ve been dancing around a girl I really like. She works in a supermarket, and I can go in and buy something, flirt with her for a minute or so, and get away feeling good and not sick. She told me a few weeks ago that she had a boyfriend, and it felt like a kick in the guts; but I’d been dancing around and not making a move for over a year, so I had nobody to blame but myself.

Then last week, I was flirting more than ever with her, and the guy in line behind me asked loudly if I liked her, I proudly said ‘Of course.’ The next day I saw her again, and she said she had a massive fight with her boyfriend and that she was gonna break up with him. Yippee!