Any math majors?

chris11

Hey, I'm majoring in math as well as psychology at university. Just curious, if you are minoring or majoring in mathematics, when you tell others that you are doing so, do they seem to think less of you?

Anubis

math - they will think more of you since "math is hard".

psychology - it depends what you do with it.

klytus

Just curious, if you are minoring or majoring in mathematics, when you tell others that you are doing so, do they seem to think less of you?
I am majoring in Mathematics and Physics, and when someone thinks less of me because of it, then that person isn't worth my time. It hasn't happened yet in university, though. Probably because when I am there, I am not interested in talking to people who don't share my interests.

However, I still remember how people in high school hated me for what I am interested in. Luckily that is a matter of the past.

Lithium said:
I hate math.
Nobody was asking whether you like or dislike Mathematics.

Last edited:

DarkSeeker

Howdy neighbor, I'm a physics major.

That's honors physics, it's not as concentrated as math and physics but there's still a lot of maths of course.

After going through my first class of quantum mechanics, I have to say that maths never stops amazing me. It's always so full of surprises. The possibilities seems limitless and yet they somewhat are finite in a way. I also love philosophizing about maths, how can maths even exists? I don't know, but I never get tired of all the weird answers I can come up with.

chris11

Physics is an amazing subject as well. I haven't taken a lot of it, since I haven't been able to fit it into my schegual. Other than basic calculus physics 1 and 2, I don't have any. Luckily for me, quantum theory is a math class at my university.

lithium