Absolutely Terrified of attending college

lally

Hi,
I'm only 16, but I've been fretting over college since I was 14 years old. I don't think I'll be prepared academically in a year, nor do I think I'll be prepared mentally to be away from my mom and brother. Also, the whole idea of college isn't that appealing to me, there are some parts of it I think would be great. There are so many things about that turn me off.

Just thinking about attending is the scariest thing I can think of. I get so fucking scared and anxious. My heart started beating faster and it skips, and my stomach starts hurting and I feel so overwhelmed. How do I stop this? How do I stop being so scared about every aspect of everything?

The only thing I got going for me is that I know what I want to major in. And what I'd like to do as a job in the future. And I have common sense (woo.)

I don't think a day goes by where I'm not worrying about it. I'd really like to do an online college, it seems less stressful. But I feel like if I do it online people will think less of me, I know my dad will. My friend is going to a University next year, and I feel like I should follow suit.

Why does this scare me so bad? While every other kid is just going with the motions. I'm so afraid that I may not like it and I'm going to regret going, and I'll probably regret not sticking with it if I drop out. I wish I could fast forward time to when I'm like 25. Get passed all this highschool and college BS.

I'm so afraid of the unknown, I don't know what to expect in college. I don't know what the expect when I'm living alone. I know I'm probably exacerbating things, but I can't stop it!