Urgent advice

cwood1990

Hi
I'm Claire and from the age of 15 to 19 I was completely housebound now at the age of 21 I am able to travel and go to shops by myself but recently i have been trying to get into work and even managed to get a temporary position in a shop. I spent 4 hours training at this shop and don't wanna go back due to fear of dealing with customers and using the till. I don't know if i should fight through this fear or if maybe i just need to work in a non customer environment. By the way the fear from a scale of 1 to 10 is 10 i have cried twice since training and am feeling constanly sad due to the whole situation. I hope someone who maybe has experienced the same thing can help me make up my mind.

Blabla..

Hey Claire , welcome

I suggest you try the non customer environment , like i did , there are a couple of jobs which doesn't involve dealing with customers , i worked as a chef for 5 years in a rotisserie and , once you become familiar with the environment and the people it's pretty cool

Blabla..

i did try alot of jobs with customers but i hated it , going to work was a nightmare for me i usually ended up quitting after 1-2 days so , don't torture yourself by doing something you hate everyday , or it is possible that you get used to it and end up liking it ,who knows ?

cwood1990

thats what i dont know i'm on sick benefit so if i accept this job i lose my money and may not get it again so i'm scared of risking my money for a job a may not ever like

Blabla..

well if your first day was that bad , i wouldn't risk it , i would try something else without having to interact with customers , that's what i would do personally

Blabla..

i'm sorry i can't help any further , jobs varies alot from places to places , back then i would look online for local job postings , and just get informed if interacting with customers was needed , i had never worked in a kitchen , i tried it and liked it ,

cwood1990