Ultimate Plan to Attack Social Anxiety?

DanielLewis

I think I've come up with an awesome plan to attack and defeat social anxiety. I've been thinking a lot about it and what causes it. I'm not an expert on the subject, but I believe it is a learned behavior that's caused by a number of factors. Also, socializing is a learned skill that we learn from the moment we're born. Many of us just have withdrawn into isolation and haven't exercised the skill enough. So, my plan is this...

1) Retrain the mind through thought practice. This will be difficult at first because many of us have fallen into a negative way of thinking. We have recurring negative thoughts that are making SA worse. I've monitored what I've been thinking on a daily basis lately and have made a list below consisting of the recurring negative thoughts that I have. My plan is to go over the list at the end of each day and review how I did. I see what thoughts I need to work on eliminating more the next day. Here's the list:

1. Hesitating to say or do what comes to mind out of fear of what others will think or thinking myself that what I have in mind to do or say is weird or boring.
2. Thinking I have to impress people by being interesting and funny.
3. Taking the disapproval of others personally and thinking it's evidence that something is wrong with me.
4. Thinking of myself as shy, lonely, and not confident.
5. Getting down on myself, and beating myself up, when I fail to be the person I want to be.
6. Look for faults in others and viewing them negatively such as by how they look.
7. Thinking or worrying about how I look such as by thinking I'm ugly when I see myself in the mirror.
8. Thinking or worrying about the past or future. For example, not being able to let go of the mistakes I made in the past and worrying that I won't get to where I want to in the future.
9. Assuming other people think negatively of me.