To introduce myself?

Miloticat

Hi, I'm Miloticat.

I'm an 18-year-old student living in Montreal, Quebec.
I speak English, French and some German too.

I only recently discovered my diagnosis (AvPD), prior to which I always believed I was just horribly socially inept. Since then I've been trying to make it my mission to talk to people who are going through/went through this transition.
I also suffer from depression and irrational anxiety.

I believe my symptoms originate from when I was a young child. My parents broke up before I was a year old, and at the age of 5 my father had a new child with the woman who would become my stepmom for the better half of my life. She treated me fine, but he resented me a lot.
For the next 9 years he would make my life a living hell by perpetually excluding me, insulting me, emotionally abusing me, and scaring me to the point of nervous breakdowns.
I was suicidal by the age of 7.

At this time I was pretty reserved in school. I had a few close friends I got along with but I didn't speak up much because most of my classmates were French and didn't like me. Eventually my best friends met a new group of girls who happened to have gang ties.
They didn't like me much, and for the following 6 years I was physically and emotionally abused in school, beaten by my "friends" and sometimes they threatened to kill me. Often they threatened to have me kidnapped and raped by their gang-member brothers and friends. Every night I went to sleep hoping not to wake up in the morning.

These were the darkest years of my life, but I spent them living in my fantasies. I remained completely unaware that life was passing me by.