Tips and useful info to beat Anxiety and panic attacks!

Vincent

Banned
I am a ESL teacher in Taiwan, facing my demons on a daily basis and finding that exposure and non avoidance yeids very little benefit. My nationality is New Zealand and I am a twenty six year old male. I have co morbidity with depression. I find that here is pretty tricky to get the right help, as English isn't a first language, so I figure, try using audio therapy. I've come across two in my non-systematic searches online...

Firstly, the Linden Method. I'm moderately paranoid that there are people his payroll, filling the bulletin boards with empty praise. Of course, the weeksite looks too manufactured and basically like a marketing ploy. There are some third party testimonies but they are linked within the site. A google search didn't turn up any neutral media reports.

The other, SAI. Has anyone heard of the Social Anxiety Institute? It's website is www.socialanxietyinstitute.com. They have a twenty hour recorded CCBT (Comprehensive Cognitive Behavioural Therapy) audio program. Their site seems less plastic, but also smaller and the program is twice as expensive. However, it is tailored specifically to SAD (Social Anxiety Disorder), and they give an overview of alot more information than the Linden website. Linden dismisses CBT at one point, but most experts seem to agree that this is the proven method for treat SA...

Please let me know if you can,
my email is [email protected]

Thanks,
-Vincent.

ScaredGirl

Hi,

When I first started crawling out the families basement window I drank to fit it with my new found friends and definately don't recommend using alcohol to self-medicate, it bit me in the butt and I ended up with a nasty addiction which ended up surpassing my SA. After I started my 12 step program I was stripped of my crutch and had to start dealing being with large groups of people if I was to survive so here are the techniques I developed over the years to make that easier.