sweating

Anonymous

I sweat bad in certain situations, even though i feel like I could care less abount the situation, but I sweat a whole lot anyway. I tried paxil and had ever single side effect listed on the bottle. Anyone take any medication that helped with crazy sweating?

Anonymous

ARRRG! Dang site just devoured my last post without a trace...

I don't have this problem, but I did some reading up. Note that I am NOT a medical expert.

If your sweating was helped by Paxil, try another med, as the problem is probably SA-related (psychosomatic).

If Paxil did nothing for the excessive sweating (hyperhidrosis), then it may be a somatic (body, not mind) issue. I've heard of a topical product for this called Drysol. Note that it's *ridiculously* expensive for an antiperspirant, but doctors do recommend it.

If that just doesn't cut it, the Mayo Clinic has a few ideas:

Iontophoresis. In this procedure, a dermatologist uses a battery-powered device to deliver a low current of electricity to the affected area. Although iontophoresis is painless and quite safe, it may be no more effective than a topical antiperspirant.

Botulinum toxin (Botox). This is the same product that helps smooth facial wrinkles by paralyzing certain muscles. Researchers have discovered that Botox injections are also an effective way to treat severe hyperhidrosis by blocking the nerves that trigger the sweat glands. Botox isn't a cure-all, however. It may take several injections to achieve the desired results, the treatment can be painful, and the results only last about 4 months. In addition, although Botox stops sweating, it doesn't prevent body odor.