Scared ****less of college.

Social_Monstrosity

I graduated high school last Spring and by now I SHOULD be in college but I'm taking a year off of school to try to unwind a bit. Call me weak-willed all you want but high school was hell for me (as I am sure it also was for many of you on this site) and I'm still recovering from it.

Nevertheless I'm still scared shitless of the inevitable classroom lectures my future holds one year from now.

I simply cannot push myself to participate. Ever. It didn't work in high school it sure as HELL won't work now or even one year from now.

I've had a recurring nightmare for the past couple of years. It involves me sitting in my desk inside of a large, circular dungeon (think of a torture chamber with ONE desk in the middle). I'm dutifully finishing a large worksheet packet when suddenly all of my nemeses from high school seemingly appear out of the shadows of the dungeon. They surround my desk, hovering around my shoulder, whispering in my ear, snickering at me, taunting me, demoralizing me, practically killing me. I can never recall what exactly they say to me in the dream, but I do know their intentions were ill. Then they apparate away (Any Potter fans? Heh.), their brutal insults still reverberating off of the walls of the chamber, always paining my ears. At this point in the dream I'm sitting in a fetal position in a corner of the room, covering my ears from my assailants' whispers, when a large mirror appears. I look into it and see that my hair (which is quite long at the moment) has all fallen out. I scream and from behind the mirror steps my old AP English teacher...she collects the strands of my hair from the floor of the dungeon while saying (And it's ALWAYS the same thing) "Why can't you talk? Why do you always have to SCREAM?" Then she cackles and also disappears like the bullies.