Office Activities: How do you feel about them? Do you avoid them?

lithiumflower

I'm hoping to hear some of your opinions and/or experiences with this…

I work as a data processor. At my job I can wear jeans and a hoodie, listen to my iPod and pretty much be left alone most of the time. Suffering from social anxiety, avpd and depression, this works out pretty good for me.

However there's the issue of office parties and get togethers, happy hour (I don't drink), secret santa, etc. You see, I have no interest in office activities for many reasons -- not just my anxiety issues. Bluntly, I don't want to have anything to do with my coworkers outside of the job. There are quite a few of them that I like (our department is broken into teams), but even at that, I like to leave work at work. Also, I'm a homebody and a loner.

There's a reorganization move going on in the company and this other department we are merging with do lots of happy hour things, bowling, etc. In this company people seem to turn up their noses and gossip at/about people that don't jump up with excitement and participate in every event.

So I was wondering how you all feel about company activities and dealing with office parties and the like. For those of you that avoid them, how do you go back doing so? Do you feel like you always have to come up with an excuse not to participate?

For the past five years I've scheduled off ahead of time before their office holiday party. I've done the same this year as well. Though I'll probably still have to avoid another party with the groups combining.

Niceguy23

Wow sounds like a job I would be interested in. Im just like you. If I worked or even when I was In school I went to school and that was it I didnt participate in afterschool activities when I was invited places I did not go. I would avoid them all and if I ever did try and push myself I just didnt like the experience at all. I actually enjoy being home and by myself.

Last edited:

tizzy