New here and coming to terms

missjme

Hi there,

My name is Jaime and I'm 25, female. Not sure how to start, but I already feel some sort of relief just registering this forum thinking that I may be able to get some help. I will also mention that this is my first time joining a forum so let me know if I am doing anything wrong, like posting in the wrong category.

I definitely suffer from anxiety which is triggered mostly by social situations. As a teenager I was a social butterfly and I have to admit that I dabbled with some drugs which I worry messed with my seratonin leaving me with eternal consequence of suffering with anxiety.

When I think about what triggers my anxiety in a social setting it mostly comes back to this: I fear that somehow it will lead to my partner (boyfriend) being broken up. That may sound weird but I will explain with a few scenarios.

I don't have that many friends. I'm not good at making new friends. I hold on to my old high school friends who are low maintenance. I've moved to a small town with my partner for his job, and I work with him and a couple other guys (no girls) so there isn't that much opportunity to meet girls anyway. I do want friends here. But even when I meet someone (a girl, around my age) who I think could be a friend I start getting anxiety. I start judging her, and imagining if we become close friends and she started coming around, what if my boyfriend started liking her more than me? What if the idea of someone new excited him? What if she has a prettier face? So I judge her face. What if she has bigger boobs? A nicer bum? So I judge her physically. I know this sounds pathetic. And I've self diagnosed as "insecure" and I've tried to work on that. I exercise, often. Sometimes I go to the spa to get treatments done and that very temporarily boosts my confidence.