My therapist has given up on me

Izzie

I'm a mess I get times were I think differently I have such strong urges to hurt my self and feel suicidal. I go in a circle of feeling 'better' then it comes to this. I have a voice telling me horrible things and to hurt myself.
I e-mailed my therapist today. I needed help I felt desperate. When I'm like this sessions are near pointless because I have avpd I am not good at opening up and so when I'm like this I pretty much don't talk at all. I felt desperate and conveyed this by saying what he was doing wasn't helping me right now. What I meant not this instant when I'd called in sick to work after a failed attempt to break my foot or fall diwn the stairs I had to invent a stomach virus as I could not face work said I was thinking about everyone talking about me I said I don't know what to do.
His reply was that it always come to me making him feel he is not good enough that no matter how compassionate he is I do this. He finished saying he could do nothing else and sorry he could not help me. I almost killed myself this morning and now he is giving up on me? It's what I've been waiting for - him to get fed up of me and he knows that. I can't believe this is happening. I will never trust another therapist

NamiraWilhelm

Sorry you're enduring this :(

Maybe he feels like you're not doing anything/enough to help yourself? Are you? He's there to offer guidance only, it's only you that can get you through it.

Maybe it's some kind of tough love approach?

Izzie

I hope it is a tough love kind of thing. I cried so much - I've not cried in a long time so at least he's got me feeling something! I told him I don't trust him though :sad:. I've been seeing him for a year. But my thing is with trust. I just needed help today and I know I have to help myself but it's not always that easy things have piled up recently and today I caved.