My anxiety is afffecting my social life

edmontonguy

Hi all,
This is my first time to the site. Hopefully some of you can relate to what I'm going through. Here's my story for those patient enough to read it. Even if you don't, maybe it'll make me feel better to rant anyway!

Anxiety, especially social anxiety has been a long term problem for me- I'm 25 now and have only really identified and confronted my problem in the last few years. I was well on my way to settling for a lifestyle that I didn't want....I was a computer tech out of highschool because it was easy to get a certification and I knew I wouldn't have to deal extensively with coworkers. I really wanted to get a post-secondary education, but the fear of being in classrooms packed with students terrified me, so I put it off.

Fortunately (strange, I know), the company I worked for went under and forced me to look for work. I made the difficult decision that I was going to try something to open up more social avenues for me, so I took on a professional job that moved me around the region for a couple years...being the new single guy in small towns, my new coworkers were really nice to me and had me over for dinner with their families and I took up running with a group.

However, the company functions like Christmas parties terrified me - I went nevertheless, but I'd always go home angry with myself over how I think I came across- quiet, uninterested and uninteresting, or distant - even though I didn't intend to be that way. In social situations, I would shut down...while I can usually control how I appear outwardly, I am so anxious that I can't put together a coherent thought, so of course I keep quiet.

So all in all, while I was putting myself in social situations, I was not being very social...but practice is supposed to make perfect, so I kept trying not to turn down opportunities.