Loss of interest after bullying

Paulkh

I was bullied psychologically and physically at school between the age of 6 and 16, is it normal for people who have been severely bullied to lose interest in a lot of things ? When I was young I had lots of dreams and plans but as an adult it just seems that nothing interests me as a far as work and career is concerned. I am finding this really hard to explain. When I was a young kid I wanted to be many things including a vet, wildlife worker and a writer.

Since I left school I just want to write. Just write. I work as a nurse but it doesn't interest me at all and no other career of job interests me. Nothing accept writing. I live and breathe to write and hopefully one day I will be published.

What I am trying to ask is, is this normal ? I am not lazy, I am a hard worker, but the thought of any job just leaves me feeling blank. I also have so much anger inside me, its like a volcano and I shout at my son for the stupidest little things. I have two sons and the one I shout at the most for silly things just looks like me when I was his age. I love him to pieces and I feel like nobody understands me. Maybe I don't understand me.

DarkSeeker

I went through severe bullying from age 0-19. I don't care who did what to me, my biggest bullies in my head will always be my parents. I remember that absolute feeling of helplessness and powerlessness. I was just a puppet, a walking cadaver with strings plucked in its back.

I still have nightmare about this. I don't know what kind of bullying you went through, but I think that consciously taking out the repressed anger in a healthy way would be a good start. I find the conscious part of it to be important, that feeling you get after unleashing your everything. It's almost a feeling of accomplishment, a feeling of power and control.