Life of the seminar, but not life of the party

Sweeney

Hello, I'm a university student, 19 years of age and over the past year or so I have discovered I suffer from social anxiety. I very seldom talk, probably due to irrational fear, but I also feel as though I have nothing to say, or at least nothing that anyone would find interesting.

Unstructured conversation is something that I have great difficulty with. This is perplexing, because when in a seminar, I'm nearly always the one who gets the discussion to a start! It's quite strange that in this environment, I feel much more comfortable to talk and even joke about the subject in hand. Public speaking and presentations are also something I find little trouble doing, although I know some -exuberant and outgoing people- who would be terrified at the prospect.

If I could just get comfortable around people in "everyday" social situations, maybe I could be life of the party aswell, but this seems a long way off.

Thankyou for reading, please feel free to make any comments on this subject.

Quinn