Intimidated by Male Professor

LovelyAmor

Ok..So i'm a sophomore in college. My major is Criminal Justice (lol) and I'm taking a Political Science class. I thought I really didn't need to visit sites like these again (i did in the past) and that I was ok because I had been doing Positive Affirmations. I have become more confident and my self-esteem has boosted. But I still find myself slipping into those anxious, self-conscious, paranoid moments.

When i'm in the class I try to look directly at him while he is speaking to show that I am interested and alert. I don't want to look down or play with my phone because that would be rude. I don't know if he can tell the nervousness in my eyes? I'm just so paranoid!! I think he notices it and is wondering "why does she keep looking at me?" "Why is she looking like that?" "what's wrong with her?". And I 'feel' that he gives me this look like he is tired of me and annoyed by it. :confused:

Sometimes I think I look a certain way but when I stop look in the mirror I notice that nothing is really wrong. Also I am a little intimidated by males, especially authority figures. I feel like i'm just crazy sometimes!

I don't want to drop the class just because of that. I really want to get over this crap. I was doing so well and i've just slipped back into it.::(:

kc1980

How many other students are in your class?

Does your professor seem to be angry or in a bad mood in general?

I have taught classes for a while in high school, and the issue of how to look at the students can also be a bit of a problem for a teacher. One should avoid always looking at the same person, while ignoring others.

scoobycrawler

okay my best advise to you and I am serious not joking really that if you look at his package and imagine his fly is down, see him and how embarrassed he must be since he is up there in front of all those young adults and you just can visualise him with his fly down teaching the entire class. problem solved.

Minty