I'm now a manager...yay?

Toad

just a rant read if you want:

Well...this is my 5th year working as a lifeguard, which I hate with a passion but I am able to keep myself occupied in my time down. Unfortunately for me this makes me a good worker...so I get more hours, and now I manage when the other managers are out of town. Managing basically means that I get paid more to do less...yay? No not really.

I hate managing because I am forced to make some decisions that not everyone will like...such as when we need 2 guards up vs 1 guard. Some people get mad at me...well I'm thinking they are but they probably don't mind much, and then I am constantly worrying whether or not they still like me. Also when I manage I have to occasionally confront adults if they are causing problems, which is hard as hell for me but as long as I get really pissed at them before I talk to them I'm ok...I know I sound like a huge asshole to them, but whatever works i guess.

I also am unwilling to assign tasks to other people, so I just do everything myself, which I don't mind because it keeps me busy and the guards like working with me because of this...besides if I don't do it then I won't be satisfied and it will just annoy me the rest of the time I'm working that day. Since I do this though, some of the guards think I have no authority (which in reality I really don't) and start bugging me about things like letting them go home early. I hate this, because I have to say that they can't and then they get mad at me.

I managed tonight and it was terrible. Of course nothing happened, and when the other manager came in later to help me close (this was the first time I managed a closing shift) he complimented on how nice the place looked. Sure he was satisfied, but I still can't help feeling like I failed the guards I was managing, and I get to work with most of them tomorrow as a guard...can hardly wait :( .