I have to write a resume but...

ozkr

I have no skills.

I've been trying to write a resume but I always find myself stuck when trying to write about my skills because I don't have any.

I've been searching everywhere for tips on how to write your skills down and found some sites that tell you how to use "soft skills" ,which are skills like "self-motivated" or "good communication skills". How can I even come up with stuff like that if people are going to realize I don't have such skills when/if they interview me? I feel kind of self-concious ,and I don't really feel like embellishing my resume with stuff that doesn't really describe me because I'm afraid of looking dumb.

I worked as a dishwasher and prep-cook for the last three years (during the summer season) and I hated those jobs but I took them because they don't involve a lot of social interaction. I dind't have a chance to develop any real skills in those jobs, at least skills that I can use in the kinf of job I want to apply for .
Now I'm kind of desperate for a new job and for any experience that I can get from it for future jobs. Can anyone help me with some advice or ideas?

So far ,this are the only skills I've come up with:
-Experience with Microsoft Office (Word,Excel,Powerpoint)
-Fluent Spanish
(boring,huh?)

maggie

hey ozkr, i really think you do have some skills..sometimes it's just hard to figure out how to put them down on a resume. The computer skills you have are worth putting, and also being fluent is Spanish is a huge plus. That alone could give you an edge in certain jobs. Here's just a few ideas that could tie in with your summer job: 'punctual, hard worker, who assumes responsibility easily', 'willing and able to handle wide variety of tasks', 'proven team player', 'able to make sound decisions in a challenging work place'....stuff like that can help to fill in some space too :wink: good luck :!:

koyaanisqatsi

Hi ozkr,