Horrible way to live

A

Anonymous-

Here's my story: The first time I remember having a problem with any kind of social anxiety was about five years ago in college. I remember being called on to answer a question and my face turning really red while I was answering. I don't remember why I turned so red, but I remember that the girl in front of me made a big deal about it. "Wow, look how red he is!!" I remember after that I was afraid to answer questions in that class because I would react the same way, and then she would react the same way.

For the most part, it wasn't a real problem in college. I do remember that my last semester when I interned I would blush all the time when we would all go out to eat at the place I was working and someone would talk to me there. I would hate to make phone calls in my office because everyone in the whole building could hear me. Even then it wasn't a big problem. I could live with it.

After I graduated though, I began working at a church. I was on staff as one of the associate pastors. That's when my anxiety began spinning out of control. We had weekly staff meetings that I would be nervous and anxious about the whole week. There were just three of us, and the other two were older and much more experienced than I was. Things that they would talk about I would just sit there and have no idea what they were talking about. They would ask me my opinions on things, and I had no idea what to say most of the time. I would turn red whenever I had to talk in those meetings. I was nervous the whole meeting, and would sometimes be so focused on how to avoid talking that the meeting would be over and I really didn't hear most of it. I was planning avoidance techniques the whole time.