Hiya, people of the internet!

emsmulder

Another newbie here stumbling onto the website. What to do, what to say. Time to introduce myself.

This is a little long and detailed for an introduction. What can I say; I'm a very detailed person.

My name is Emily (but here on the interwebs people call me Ems). I'm a 20 year old gal from The Netherlands, and I was first diagnosed with a good old social anxiety disorder when I was 16, a year after I had to drop out of high school and becoming increasingly reclusive. Age 15/16/17 was definitely the darkest time of my life. The way I used to describe feeling at the time was that I felt as if my body was still physically alive but mentally I had already passed away. It was a total a one-foot-in-the-grave deal.

Other than my SAD diagnose, seeing psychologists/psychiatrists unfortunately hasn't done much for me, which has made me feel a little hopeless about the situation. What did absolutely change my life for the better is being on medication. I started taking Paroxetine when I was 17, and had a very gradual and long adjustment period. It wasn't until a good year later that I had a moment when I realized how much more relaxed and in control I was of myself than the year before.