Hello...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this. Feeling a little lonely and introspective, so if anyone wants to listen, here's me in a nutshell :

I'm 22, and just finishing up college.

I hate being the center of attention. I'm PETRIFIED of public speaking or even speaking up in class. I can't bring myself to talk to professors or anyone in a position of authority.

Besides my boyfriend, I have no real friends. There are people I keep in touch with and friendly acquaintances, but no one in whom I can truly confide or let my guard down with.

I constantly feel fat. I'm 5'2" and 112lbs -- whether or not you want to call this "fat" is up to you, but I was pretty porky throughout junior high and most of high school, and consequently there isn't a day that goes by that I don't think about my weight, or tug at my clothes worrying about what I must look like to the outside world.

If you met me in person, you probably would classify me as a social-phobic. I hide it pretty well. (At least I think I do.)

I'm really embarrassed about my social anxiety. :oops:

I'm afraid of speaking on the telephone. Sometime I don't pick it up if it's a number I don't recognize.

I think the internet is a god-send. Face-less communication is so easy.

I guess that's it for now.

Thanks for letting me vent
:D

redlady

Hello and welcome - you are certainly braver than i. When i first joined up i couldn't bring myself to formally introduce myself, so good for you.
I hope you find a sense of solace and support here with us :D

maggie

hi TwoYellowSocks. :) .i love your name!....and i can relate to everything you say..and the weight thing?..i'm not overweight, but i am really strict about what i eat and almost obsessed with my clothes and how i look before i walk out the door...i'm sure it's also part of my anxiety :roll:

Angie_05

maggie said: