Hello everybody

peelnstick

I suppose it would be a bit rude if I didn't introduce myself before I posted more, I'm not sure where to either considering there's a sticky for this as well. I'm just presenting my history as having a phobia and probably a tinge of OCD as well.

I'm a high school student in a small town, 16, soon to be a junior. I'm an avid language studier, with Japanese and Spanish relatively high on my priority list. Computers and the world of information technology is where I hopefully belong.

I haven't been diagnosed by a doctor as having a condition, however agoraphobia is certainly what seems to fit my symptoms the best. All this mess has turned me introverted which oddly has gotten better since I started high school. I guess that's because high school sort of forces you to fend for yourself, elementary school is extremely overprotective.

My dad and I also have a strained relationship because of the way I am now. It's not abusive or anything, we just used to be so much closer. Now he says he wants his old son back. That kinda hurts.

I'm extremely concerned about getting over this now, because a couple years ago our family pretty much died out, to put it bluntly. My grandmother on my dad's side died unexpectedly in July 2005. My dad took care of her and he went down there like he did every day, only to find her dead in the living room floor. Two months later, my uncle was found dead by his wife after she got out of the shower; and I just had saw him that very day at school. That same day (I think, this is fuzzy), we found out that my mom's sister had terminal cancer, and she died the day after Christmas, in 2006 I believe. I hope I don't get cancer as well, our family seems to have a history of it and heart problems. I want my life to be worth something, especially now that I see how fragile it is.

My story with fear and phobias: