Feeling Empty After Therapy?

xsawx

So I just got back from my first "therapy" intake appointment at the doctor's office. I am brand new to the therapy world. I had only even been to the psychologist twice before she referred me to this doctor which is a psychiatrist because she suggested I receive pills for my anxiety and depression. I really didn't know what to expect. So I sat with this therapist before hand so she can evaluate me and make little notes to prepare the actual psychiatrist for me, I guess.
After leaving, I couldn't help but notice that every time I leave one of these things, I end up feeling worse than when I got there. So naturally I go straight to Google and type in my concerns. I saw this little article and really kinda wanted to share it with somebody, and figured "What better website?!" Haha. It kind of gave me a different outlook on the whole thing.

"It's the end of our third session and Jane gets up and walks to the door. After the customary "see you next week," Jane adds:

"Thank you so much for these sessions. I really feel a lot better afterward."

Uh oh.

A common misunderstanding about therapy is that its function is to help us "feel better" each week. Many equate psychotherapy with the day spa where we enter with tension and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed. Sometimes this is the case. But much of the time we leave with a greater understanding of the gravity, severity and prevalence of our issues. We think we have one problem but realize we have five. This doesn't always feel better; it can feel much worse.

That's why my response to Jane's comment is "uh oh." If she's expecting to always feel good after her sessions, she may be setting herself up for disappointment.