Drivers License

sketchy24

I was just curious if anyone had a hard time getting their drivers license due to SA. I've failed the driving test 3 times and its not cause I'm a bad driver... just when I'm sitting in the car with the instructor knowing this person is grading me.

I finally just let my permit expire cause I was so discouraged... it didn't help on the last time when the guy is all, "So you failed the test twice already, what's up with that?"

Anyway, I REALLY want my drivers license so I was thinking about taking the written test again (easy) and drive like theirs no tomorrow feeling 100% comfortable I can do it. But I'm still worried that no matter how good I can actually drive, I'm still gonna mess up on the test cause my nerves just wont leave me alone. On that second driving test, I almost couldn't get out of the parking lot cause I could hardly push the pedal, my leg was shaking so bad it was nearly uncontrollable.

I was sooo close the third time and missed it by like, a point over. Anyway, it's been a year now and not having a DL does not help with my SA cause I feel like even a bigger moron if people ask for it or ask why I don't drive to work and all.

Anyway, anyone else have this problem. Any tips for getting through a simple 20minute driving test without wanting to throw up?

ripewithdecay

Hmm, all you can really do is be well prepared - mentally. So, make sure you get a good sleep the night before ( 8 hours or more), do some exercising an hour or two before your test, or do some meditating. You could also take a walk outside in the fresh air if it's a nice day out. These things will help to burn off the adrenaline that causes anxiety and give you a temporary state of relaxation and confidence.
I haven't even taken my road test yet, but am striving towards getting it this year. It's gonna be nerve racking, but there are a lot of people who suffer from SA that've already conquered this feat.

miss_amy