Does shyness mean immaturity?

lonely_down_under

I'm 22, male, 6 ft tall.

I'm really a shy person but I noticed that people seem to relate shyness with immaturity. I often get this terminology.. even from people below my age... sweetie, be good boy, kid, babe etc.

Always, once I talk to someone, he/she gets to know me and within some minutes, these condescending words start to come out in every sentence.

What's frustrating is that there are plenty of whackjobs hanging out in this world who don't know shit about life, science, philosophy or politics, NONE... but they seem to be so confident and pretend they know it all. They're able to hold long conversations and stay in control of it. And such losers also easily degrade me and I cannot hit back.

One thing I'm not good at is responding back intellectually real-time.

CK23

I think being shy doesnt mean you're immature... i even think the words you used 'Babe, good boy, kid' are actually kind of sweet...Shy people may not say much but they may also have gr8 insight on things and may be quite smart as well... You have to see the positive side of it... i myself am very shy but when i start talking i feel like the world's best conversationalist... the other person cant help smiling when i'm done...

rado31

Shyness defintely stopped me from growing up a way i wanted it to.
It is debilitating totaly.

CK23

I think the best way to be less shy and more out going is to keep trying to reach out to people... Take baby steps to make sure that you dont drown at the bottom of the pool... Start with the nicest person you know go to them and say hi, how's it going... how's everything turning out... I feel that it's the only way you can have hope... just keep praying that you get better and try your best... there really isnt any other way out of this problem..

Infected_Malignity