careers/jobs/interviews

sarebear24

Hi there. I'm 24 and having trouble with work. I am trying to get entry level office assistant positions (not being a receptionist, more behind the scenes) but I just can't get past the interview. So i've been temping at it for nearly 3 years. Every second temp job i take, I hate it, i feel like i don't fit in and that they want someone more outgoing. So anyway, I'm thinking of a change, but I just don't know what to do. What careers are there for shy/anxious people out there?

JWH

Hello there.

How many interviews have you been to? I'm yet to go to my first. At least you've got experience.

My aim for life & career is to do something fun and creative. That way I can focus on being a perfectionist rather than a social phobic. I'm with you on the outgoing thing - my career path assumes you're outwardly bright, bubbly and fun. But I'm only bubbly on the inside and it usually doesn't last for long.

What about a librarian? Or is that an insult??

Anonymous

JWH said:
That way I can focus on being a perfectionist rather than a social phobic.

I'm much the same way (even the creative part ;) ). However, it seems from what I've read that being a perfectionist is part of the SA/low self-esteem thing... we're perfectionists because we want to present ourselves and our work as beyond reproach (thus avoiding all criticism)... and since perfection is unattainable, we always beat the crap out of ourselves for "failing" at it... even though we often overachieve, yet think we underachieve....

Good luck, sarebear! Try a benzo to get through an interview; they've helped me for that before. As for good shy person careers, I'm a writer/editor/proofreader, so I'm usually away in my cube staring closely at things, and people know not to bother me much. Not so bad that. ;)

But the meetings, the presentations, the reviews, the work parties.... UGH.

JWH

J! I wanted that username damnit!