Blowing up when feeling attacked - am I alone?

Trisnic

I had a situation happen to me on Friday night which I cannot get out of my mind. I have probably spent 50 hours thinking about this.

As I don't like conflict and don't like to get in trouble I have been an extremely careful driver, both doing my best to follow all of the traffic rules and being a defensive driver instead of an aggressive one.

On Friday night I stopped at a stop sign for three seconds, looked both ways and then turned right. A police officer then pulled both me and the person who was behind me for "failing to stop". He could not actually see my car from where he was positioned or see what I did.

I did not understand why I was pulled over and really still don't. I feel vulnerable and unable to protect myself from this happening again, which is part of the problem.

He came up to my window and asked why I didn't stop. I told him that I did stop. He asked again and I said the same thing. He was extremely arrogant this whole time. He then asked for my license and registration which I gave him. At this point I was shaking because I hate being told I did something I didn't do. I started getting mad.

He came back and gave me a ticket for $167.00. I had never been pulled over before and even given a warning so I was a bit surprised. I asked how to contest it because I felt it was wrong. He said that the instructions were on the back of the ticket. He then asked me to sign the ticket. I asked what would happen if I didn't because I didn't agree with it. He ripped the ticket off and shoved it in my hands aggressively without explaining anything or attempting to calm me down. I asked for his name and he refused to give it to me stating that it was on the ticket (it wasn't there was only some unreadable signature).