being "judged" for changing

DannieCleo

I work as a TA in a primary school.

before the end of the last school year, i vowed to myself i would make an effort to try and change my behaviour.

But a week or so later on two seperate occasions i over heard two different sets of colleagues talking about me.

I work in a predominantly female environment and while i hate to say it, women can me very judgemental, gossipy and bitchy.

My worry is that if i DO start to make more of an effort in the new school year, i will be "judged" and talked about even more. Suspision will be cast on why i suddenly "changed" and my motives for it.

i don't have any colleague i am close enough to to confide in and no one knows of my SA.

I started in october of 2006 and i don't feel an effort was really made to "bring me into the fold" or make me feel "part of the team".

And, no, it was NOT just me and my SA talking. I would be pointedly ignored in the staffroom (ie if it were me and two other colleagues they would be sitting whispering/gossiping about other staff and they never inluded me in conversations etc).

Its should be pretty obvious to anyone that this kind of behaviour would not make a new member of staff feel welcome, let alone one who has SA.

I should point out that when i started the job, i had no idea about SA. I just spent my life thinking i was ridiculously shy/had low self esteem.

Anyway, this post is already longer than i intended it to be.

so to paraphrase - how do you change your behaviour towards people you feel already have a negative opinion of you, and will have one no matter what you do?

Marie_knowsbestt

have a look at the understanding why theres a vicious circle thread, u might find some useful stuff in there.

is there a high turn over of staff in your workplace? that can sometimes make people not to bothered about gettin to know you, because people come n go all the time sorta thing.