AvPD making freshman year of college miserable

Blackfire

hey everyone, i'm fairly new to the site and i'm pretty sure i have AvPD and i'm really starting to feel the effects of it.

as stated in the title i'm a college freshman and i'm having a really hard time transiting and making friends, and being a psych major i knew there had to be a reason for it, so after numerous attempts to self diagnose i found that AvPD seemed to fit me perfectly.

a little bit of background on my current situation, its my second semester in college and i feel alone a lot. i don't have a lot of friends and the one's i do have are in the fraternity i joined in an effort to try to make friends, given it was a successful effort i still feel alone a lot. the thing is i know i'm alone, and i want to make friends, classes just started on tuesday so i thought this would be a good chance to make new friends, but i just can't bring my self to start a conversation with a stranger for whatever reason, its like i have 0 motivation to talk to new people even though i know i need to. i occasionally party with some of my frat brothers but other then that i don't really go to parties because i don't know where they are or how i would get to them, and it seems partying is a major social outlet in college that i feel im missing out on because i have so few friends.

i also have this terrible fear of rejection thats always inhibited me from forming relationships with girls. before college i don't think i noticed this as much because i had a group of friends and was content with them and occasionally meeting new people. when i got to college i noticed almost instantly how alone i felt and how lost i was in making friends.

i'm posting here because i don't know how to get 'unstuck' and i'm tired of being alone and depressed, so if you have any advise please don't hesitate to respond.

GoBlue72

Hello, Blackfire.