Appointment anxiety?

Luckiecharm

Hi all,

I've been working on my recovery for 4 years now and I'm happy to report that I'm finally in a place where I can more or less accept myself and the fact that I'm socially anxious sometimes. 8) So, lately I've been noticing that my anxiety levels only get to that high level of panic when it comes to keeping an appointment. What I mean is, if I just decide on the spur of the moment to call round to a friends house or go into town shopping, I'm ok with it. But God forbid I actually make an appointment to meet someone or arrange to go to town the day before!
It's like going to the hairdressers: I can walk in off the street (if they're not busy) but if I have to make an appointment, it's like a lamb going to the slaughter!! I don't know if anyone else has the same experience. I mean, is there an appointment phobia?? If so, I have it :roll: I had my car booked in for a service the other day and I spent the two days before worrying about it. In the end it was a piece of cake, but I never seem to learn from these experiences. I suppose it will just take more CBT or something.

lonley1

yeah I sort of know what your saying, wheather it be for work or doctors, even a bbq or something my anxiety skyrockets.. bring on the benzos :)

IceLad

Yes I know how it feels. When it comes to something that's planned, you have time to work yourself up over and over again over the event. I really hate anticipatory anxiety- it is a real problem for me. :( Sometimes, I work myself up over events days or weeks in advance. :oops: I wish there was some way of combating anticipatory anxiety.

Mary