Anxiety over my job situation

MereMortal

Well, posting this here is a better place than anywhere else. It might not belong in this forum particularly.

I'll explain my work situation. I work as a book-keeper at a local accounting firm and have been there since October 2004. Things started going downhill after christmas that year due to my emotional sensitivity to criticism.
It's not bad criticism though, it's supposed to be 'objective' criticism but somehow I still can't handle it when I receive it. It's mostly criticism about my work and how I can improve on it but sometimes I receive comments about my personal appearance and lack of confidence and thats the type of criticism I get upset at. I get very anxious when my work mentor calls me on the internal phone, thinking she is out to give some critical comments.

One day when I got particularly upset my superior ordered me into her office and she slammed the door. With her voice raised she accused me of crying crocodile tears (she said lots of other stuff but I cant recall), like I was just putting on the waterworks for the sake of sympathy or "getting away with my immaturities".

So now as well as fearing criticism I fear getting upset when I'm subjected to it and ending up in that damn office :evil:

Jump to june this year - My very first semester of uni has ended and I know I have failed both of my subjects (just so you all know, I also do a uni degree via distance ed). I was freaking out about what to do and how my boss will treat me when she finds out my marks.
All the insane ideas I had just to avoid being in that office with the door slammed shut!!!!?.............they would have resulted in me being hurt or hospitalised!! 8O . I even had a plan and told others online of my plan, but I was talked out of it luckily enough. My marks eventually came and I got one F, and my boss had an attack of concsience due to the crocodile tears incident and went easier than expected on me.