Classmate is harassing me? What do I do?

JustMcC

Every day or at least every week in my reading class, this kid named Curtis is harassing me in class. He is one mean kid who likes to joke around a lot, and I am sick of it. I am in an Intensive reading class because I didn’t pass the reading FCAT. A class like this has kids that don’t care about school, and think this is the class to socialize. I am an honor student, but I just can’t pass the Reading FCAT even though my reading speed is good, and I understand reading comprehension. I don’t belong in a class like this. Anyways, at the beginning of this new semester, we had new students exchanged to my class. My seat at first was next to Curtis. He gave me an awkward greeting by simply rubbing my leg. I told him, “Don’t touch me, what are you doing?” No reply. A couple days later, Curtis asked me if I was a smart kid, and for some reason I hate it when people ask me that, I feel like a nerd. He distracts me when I am trying to do my work, so I asked my teacher to move my seat, I moved, and Curtis still harasses me. I tried to be quiet so there would be no trouble between me and my classmates. Once the dismissal bell rang, I put on my jacket to go home and when I turned around, Curtis whacked me in the mouth with his cap. Curtis went far enough, so the teacher talked to him and he still didn’t listen. Now, when he walks by my desk, he pounds on it, trying to get my attention. A couple days ago, my teacher asked us to share a story about being a new kid to a school. I told my story and Curtis was going hysterical over it. So his friends and even my friends were staring at me and laughing at me. I have no idea what was so funny. So it pissed me off and I didn’t say a word the past couple days. Now my teacher is mad at me because I haven’t even talked to her lately. I can’t talk to my teacher because she likes Curtis and she thinks nothing is wrong. My parents tell me to realize that he is an immature idiot and ignore hi